It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 8:07 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
 Post subject: Tojiro ITK Bread and Western Deba Questions
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:33 pm 
Site Admin

Hello,

I am a home cook, do all my own sharpening at home, and have some experience with carbon vs stainless and different blade types, but am new to higher quality cutlery. Until early this week my best knives were Tramontina and Chicago cutlery hand-me-down singles.

On Tuesday I received a Tojiro DP 240mm gyuto and am totaly blown away. I don't know if I am enjoying the edge, the blade profile, the thinness of the blade, or just the novelty of such a nice knife more right now. Needless to say, I have the itch but I have a few questions about knives I am considering down the line.

First, I would love to play with a carbon knife such as the Fujiwara Gyuto. My question is: when you force a patina, is the pattern permanent? Does the subsequent oxidation due to use slowly blot out the pattern? And can you polish and re-patina the blade after it takes on a patina?

Second, I am interested in the Tojiro ITK break knife. My concern regards sharpening the blade. Is it possible to sharpen at home? If so, how? If sharpening must be done professionally, is the scalloped blade sufficiently common that most sharpeners will be able to work with the blade?