It is currently Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:01 pm

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Tips For Butchering A Whole Chicken
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:25 am 

Hi guys,

Tonight I prepared a sautéed chicken dish from Julia Child's "The Way to Cook." I don't have the book (yet), I just watched the youtube video of her making it and copied the recipe. I should preface this by saying I am a home cook, and quite new to French cuisine.

I was wondering if anyone here has any tips on how to butcher, or segment, a whole chicken. I watched some how-to videos, and I think I did fine for my first time. The one area where I want to improve is being able to keep the skin attached to the breast. How do you guys manage this?

Also a related question, what is your favorite butcher knife? I've heard about Old Hickory butcher knives and the Victorinox cimeters. Are there any others I should check out? I currently don't have a dedicated butcher knife.

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Tips For Butchering A Whole Chicken
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:39 am 

For chicken I just a Sabatier chef knife. You don't need a butcher knife or even a boning knife for chicken. If you watch Jacque Pepin do it he uses a chef knife and a paring knife. Nothing special needed for chicken.

When I worked in a place where I eight-pieced chickens it would take about 40 seconds a bird and that was prepping the wing bone to be frenched. It just takes practice.