It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 11:35 am

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 4 [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 Post subject: Thoughts from a convert...
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 8:01 pm 

While I've been a home cook for many years, it was only in the last 4 months or so that I discovered Japanese knives. For me this feels a little odd because I'm half Japanese so go figure. Anyway I had always thought and been told that the "best" knives were Wusthof, Henckels or maybe Lamson Sharp and as a result accumulated quite a few over the years. I also thought that sharpening a knife meant to take it to a steel or use one of those Fiskars sharpeners.

About a year ago, I picked up some Bark River knives to go in my backpacking kit. Since they were all convex ground, I started researching and learning how to sharpen these knives and picked up an inexpensive set of water stones. Along the way, I found the CKTG website and started researching Japanese knives, then bought my first ones 3 months ago. Today, I am a total convert to both the knives and freehand sharpening (still learning here but getting better). I'm also totally sold on CKTG and this forum.

I now own the following, all purchased from CKTG:

Masakage Yuki 240 Gyuto
Anryu Hammered 210 Gyuto
Goko Damascus 210 Gyuto
Kohetsu AS Santoku
Tanaka Kurouchi Nakiri
Yamashin 165 Funayuki