It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:55 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: Should I take my knives to Korin for sharpening?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:03 pm 
Site Admin

Hi,
I'm planning to purchase my first Japanese knives from your site - in fact, my first decent quality knives. I am not a professional cook, just a chef to my family
After a bit of research, I was thinking about the Tojiro DP 3-piece set. My question is about the sharpening though. I don't think that as a novice, I would be able to do a decent job with the waterstone, and might mess up the angle/bevel. So, since I live in NYC, I was wondering whether taking the Tojiros to Korin for sharpening would be a good idea? How often should I expect to sharpen them? Would you recommend buying the stones instead?

Thanks,
Angie

Chefknivestogo Blog

Post subject: Re: Should I take my knives to Korin for sharpening?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:08 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Angie,

If you're not interested in sharpening your own knives than a shop like Korin would be a fine place to have them sharpened.

I would encourage you to give sharpening a try. It's not that hard and you will save money and always have sharp knives. I did a bunch of free videos that you can check out to get you started here:
http://www.chefknivestogo.com/knshforne1.html