It is currently Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:50 am

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: shirogami no 2 sharpening
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 11:18 am 

Im a chef, using tojiro itk petty, santuko and kiritsuke. Knives came super sharp ootb. I sharpened on the edge pro, but could not come close. Ootb the litrally fell through food items. Now they require some effort. I took them all to 1000 with the edge pro stones and stropped on plain balsa. Any advice? Not sure what im doing wrong

Post subject: Re: shirogami no 2 sharpening
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:58 pm 

Are you sharpening all the way to the edge? Have you used a Magic Marker to paint the edge and a loupe to determine that you are?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:01 pm 

Hi nick, yes raised a burr etc

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:08 pm 

Possibilities:

1. Rounding the edge on the balsa strop.

2. Not removing the burr completely.

3. Setting a too obtuse angle in comparison to the OOTB edge angle.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:26 pm 

Mmmm im doing just under 15 degrees. Cant feel a burr once done. But I suppose could be micro scopic. As for the stropping I keep my knife really steady

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 3:33 pm 

Steadiness while stropping is necessary, but you could be stropping at too high an angle, or lifting the spine at the end of the stroke, both of which will round the edge.