It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 10:10 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Sharpening Saji R-2 Custom Damscus Gyuto 240mm
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 9:09 pm 

I wil be honest to you, i am a total newb.

I like to cook, and every time i had to use those $30, 5 piece set knifes in a wooden block, i was swearing.

Had to re-sharpen almost every time i was doing someting, cutting onions, peppers etc

Had enough of them cheap knifes so i started to visit japanese websites and got myself a knife in the description.

Some of my friends told me " you are so stupid why did you spent $500 on a SINGLE knife ? "

I told them, " i have enough of a "cheap knife BS" and I WANT someting that is goona look nice in my home :) "

I have the knife, it is sharp out of the box and it cuts like $*!@^% but have to buy sharpening stones.

I have a budget of lets say...$200 for eighter 2 or 1 combined stone, to get the knife to be stupid sharp again

If there would be a super-duper waterstone for a bargain of $300, i would get it, but it would have to be a real deal, otherwise, around $200

Please tell me also, what is better, natural stone ? or those made by factorys ?

Thank you very much in Advance for help, i will now continue reading the forum for wheatstone reccomendation......maybe i will find some answers.....

Again thanks :)

Post subject: Re: Sharpening Saji R-2 Custom Damscus Gyuto 240mm
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2014 2:26 am 
Forum Moderator