It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 9:16 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Sharpening asymmetrical edges
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:03 pm 

I'm just learning to freehand sharpen after a couple of years on the edgepro, and through all of the videos/advice here its actually going TONS better than expected. I was not expecting to get the results Im getting as quickly as I am by freehanding, so thanks for all the help!

Now for the question! All my knives have been 50/50 (gyutos/petties/nakiri/etc), but I recently bought a tojiro dp honesuki to play around with and the edge is very definitely asymmetrical. What do I need to do differently on knives that are ground asymmetrically or that are ground only on one side?

Post subject: Re: Sharpening asymmetrical edges
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:43 pm 

Here is where I learned everything I know about asymmetrical edges. Very helpful.
http://www.kitchenknifeforums.com/showt ... -REAL-DEAL

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:46 pm 
Forum Moderator

Jared, not to disappoint, and certainly not to pick on you, but that particular thread is the WORST source of information on the topic. Possibly the single worst thread in all of knife sharpening information available on the net. And that's not an easy title to hold :) It has polluted this whole topic and confused many people, turning a simple topic into a confused mess.

Here's a far more simple explanation for asymmetric edges in general.