It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 3:51 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
 Post subject: Running out of knives to sharpen
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:28 am 

I am new to sharpening freehand with stones and I am loving the edges on my knives but after sharpening all of my kitchen and pocket knives (including my parent's), I have run out. Wondering if I can use these stones to help out my serrated knives. Strop the flat side? What about sharpening scissors? Any tips on technique would be appreciated.

Post subject: Re: Running out of knives to sharpen
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:55 am 

IMO the majority of serrated knives are made that way because people don't know how to sharpen, so instead they use serrated blades. Obviously there are some applications requiring serrations, but not nearly as many as the number of serrated knives sold. I have had success removing serrations (on some pocket knives) leaving behind a nice edge.

I discovered that scissors can be a completely different beast depending on how they are ground. I have decided to stay away from those. Ask folks at work if you can sharpen their knives, I have has some fun with that. I recently bought some vintage straight razors to sharpen and restore (new project, we will see how it goes), so there is that too . . .

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:37 pm 
Forum Moderator

Sharpening a serrated knife is difficult on stones and success depends on what type of serrations.