It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:09 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: Richmond Laser vs Konosuke HH?
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2012 7:09 pm 
Site Admin

Hi,

I have been considering an thin gyuto 240mm that is still sturdy enough to be a primary kitchen knife. I am not a pro just a hobby cook at home. I primarily use a Tojiro DP 210 and CCK 1303 that I purchased form CKtG. I believe that I am falling in to the stainless camp because of its ease of maintenance. Some times other people use my knives, wife included, who are less careful with them and carbon will suffer in my kitchen.

I love the sounds of AEB-L steel and would love a DT, but really can not justify the expense for my needs.

I know that DT's AEB-L is well liked and sounds like a superbe choice and the fact that Mark was given DT's ITK a vote of confidence influences my opinion of materials, but again is more than I can spend and they never seem to be available.

My question is I would like a knife that I will keep for many years. I'm looking for a knife that sharpens easily takes a nice edge and holds it reasonably well. I would like a knife with a nice taper to the point. Appearance is important with this choice.

How would you compare the Richmond Laser and Konosuke HH to each other and maybe a DT ITK. Should I consider the Ultimatum or other knives?

I know this is a broad question thanks for your help.

Tim

Richmond Laser

Post subject: Re: Richmond Laser vs Konosuke HH?