It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:05 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Richmond Laser vs. Konosuke HH or HD - Wa-Gyuto
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 9:43 pm 

I am a home cook upgrading from a Tojiro DP 240mm western-handled gyuto and have decided I want a Japanese-handled laser.

I've narrowed it down to the Richmond Laser and the Konosuke in either HH or HD. Here are my thoughts/questions:

1. Especially with the switch to a Japanese handle, I think I'll be happier with the 270mm model, rather than the 240.
2. I certainly like the looks of the Richmond rosewood/ebony handle better than the Konosuke, but the Konosuke sure gets a lot of praise for blade thinness and sharpening qualities.
3. Is the blade profile any different between the two knives? Given a choice, I think I'd like a somewhat flatter profile. With sharper knives, I am doing more push cuts, but still do some rocking.
4. In terms of stock listed, I could buy the Konosuke HD 270 mm today, but I noticed that Mark said yesterday that some 270mm Richmond Lasers just arrived and were being handled. If the Konosuke HH 270mm were in stock, and remained on sale, it would be the cheapest of the three.

Advice welcome!

Thanks,
MoT

Post subject: Re: Richmond Laser vs. Konosuke HH or HD - Wa-Gyuto
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:05 pm