It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 9:26 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Recommendation for my first gyuto
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:37 pm 

I'm a home cook and want a really nice knife for my B-day. The wife has put a limit of $270 (maybe I can push that up slightly). I'm looking for something that is really nice/unique looking yet versatile in the kitchen. Moreover, I want to be able to make 80% of my meals with just one knife, specifically, I want to use it for slicing meat (for stir fry) and prepping general vegetables.

I currently use an el-cheapo 8" chef's knife with a fairly thin edge and am looking for something with those characteristics.

1. Are you right handed? Right
2. What type of knife are you interested in (gyuto, nakiri etc..) Gyuto
3. What size knife are you looking for? 210 or a short 240
4. Do you prefer carbon or stainless steel? Prefer a carbon edge
5. Do you prefer a western handle or a Japanese handle? Never used a Japanese handle but willing to try it on my first JK
6. How much did you want to spend? $270 but up to $300
7. Do you know how to sharpen? Yes

I've been on the CKTG site, reading their forums, and these four knives have peaked my interests:

Kohetsu Blue #2 Nashiju: http://www.chefknivestogo.com/kobl2nagy21.html
Anryu Hammered: http://www.chefknivestogo.com/anhagy21.html#.U7Gnj_ldV8E
Masakage Shimo: http://www.chefknivestogo.com/mashgy21.html