It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:39 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: Ceramic rod vs stones.
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:04 pm 

Hello everybody! I'm new to the obsession. A working line cook/chef of about 18 years now, I always worked in restaurants that had a knife sharpening service, and some pretty lame, but none the less sharp knives, at least on delivery day. Well, at me latest job, they had a bunch of victorinox chef knives for my use, but I had to sharpen myself. I have learned to get a basic decent edge, but am sure I have a lot further to go. I want to buy my own set of working knives, and some stones.

My question for here is, if I buy the idahone ceramic rod listed at 1200 grit, is there any point in buying stones with a higher grit rating, or am I pretty much just gonna be working at the 1200 grit zone day to day. I plan to bring the rod and a knife or two to work with me and leave them in my locker until my weekend when I will bring them home to re-sharpen them.

Thanks for any input!

Post subject: Re: Ceramic rod vs stones.
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:21 pm