It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:13 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 2 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 Post subject: Re: Teaching Opportunity - Knife Sharpening
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:08 pm 

Thank you Eamon,

Believe me, I do not intend to make anyone feel uncomfortable and walk away from the lesson wondering what the heck they are doing at the school in the first place. I've got a lot of teaching experience through the military.
In fact, the method you speak of is exactly the way we teach a new subject to anyone, build layers of confidence while getting the basic teaching points across and making it fun during the process. I get to talk to the same group of people in their second year so that is where I will have the opportunity to get more technical and introduce different techniques like the sweeping motion, which I love.

In my last class, I was lucky enough to have one particular individual who was extremely interested and jumped at the opportunity to take a dull knife to a level none of them, including the senior chefs had ever seen, so it just worked for that particular day, I may not have that chance this time around.

Thank you, I don't take any of these good points for granted. Inspiring, motivating, building confidence, teaching the basics and making them smile while doing this is my goal.

I will let you know how it goes next week.

Peter

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:22 am 
Forum Moderator