It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:16 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 
 Post subject: Good knife under $70.
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 2:15 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Mark & Co.,

First of all, thanks for such an excellent and informative website. I'm a vegan home cook getting my first set of knives to take with me while traveling abroad these next couple years for work. I'm going to get either the Tojiro Shirogami Nakiri 165mm or the CCK Small Cleaver as my standard knife (fruit & veg is all I cook), and I'm also trying to pick out a more typical chef's knife so I'll have something around that helpful dinner guests will be comfortable using (and that will keep me used to typical chef's/gyuto knives for when I'm in their kitchens). Do you happen to have any recommendations under $70? I'm traveling for the next three years and won't be in a place where I can sharpen at home, so besides keeping a honing steel with me I'll need to pay for professional sharpening (so I'd like something that maintains it's edge - I quite like carbon but am openminded). Again, I don't cook meat or fish, just looking for a second large vegetable blade to keep around to keep myself familiar with the knives I'll find in friends' kitchens. But that's not the point of the email...