It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 12:39 pm

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Kohetsu AS 210 gyuto review
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 12:18 pm 

As I promised in my knife recommendation topic, I’m going to write and update a review for the Kohetsu AS 210 Gyuto I ordered from cktg. I’m a hobby cook, so I’m not going to put it through the same kind of paces a professional cook would do.

My plan for this long-term review is to start with an initial impression, then chime in and update the topic at a regular basis. Let’s say first week, first month, first quarter… can’t guarantee if I end up doing a one year review like some other people did. The pictures will be scaled down to 640px so that the topic will readable on mobile and low resolution devices. I'm also not uploading all the pictures, but here is the the link to the picasa folder where I will store all the images.

I will use the knife with its OOTB edge -only touching it up with some stropping- until I reach the point where the edge is too dull for my liking. Then I will sharpen it using a combination of different stones and see if I get a better or inferior sharpness compared to the OOTB edge. Depending how long the edge lasts, I will either add those findings to one the scheduled updates, or write one out of schedule.

But let’s get started with the review:

Shipping: