It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:54 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 
 Post subject: Gyuto questions. How to care for carbon steel.
PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:03 pm 
Site Admin

Dear CKTG,

I was hoping you would have a minute to help me out with a few questions I have formed when narrowing down my selection for my first nice knife purchase. I’m a home cook, have been cooking for a while and lurking the forum boards and have decided to purchase a gyuto knife. I want it to be 210mm and the question I have is regarding maintenance and blade material. I am having a tough time finding what exactly is required of a carbon blade versus the less maintenance of a stainless blade. I do not know how to sharpen but would like a knife that I will hone before using each time and take to get sharpened a couple times per year; basically a solid all around work horse knife. I am interested in the Kohetsu Blue #2 Gyuto 210mm after a couple recommendations praising the knife but I don’t know exactly what it would entail regarding maintenance and upkeep of the knife and if that would actually be a good fit for me being that I do not know how to sharpen?

Any help you can provide would be much appreciated, thanks!

Taylor

Chefknivestogo New Arrivals

Post subject: Re: Gyuto questions. How to care for carbon steel.
PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 3:42 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Taylor,