It is currently Sat Aug 23, 2014 7:20 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Stones to get for my woodworking tools.
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:28 pm 
Site Admin

Mark

I am a woodworker who is thinking of switching to waterstone mainly for my plane blades and chisels. All of my tools are of O1 steel, high carbon, old tools. Well, most anyway. I have a few A2 pieces. I am thinking about these stones: the naniwa 8k snow white, the suehiro rika 5k and a king red brick 1k. What would you say to these stones for working the edges of chisels and plane blades? I take good care of my tools like my dad said to so I tend to sharpen frequently amd only have to touch things up a bit for the next days work
I am a boat building student and have a good bit of work coming my way, will these stones work for me?

Thanks
Bill

Chefknivestogo Blog

Post subject: Re: Stones to get for my woodworking tools.
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:34 pm 
Site Admin

I think you would do well with the shapton pro or glass stones for your tools. They're excellent at cutting O1 steel and they're also very consistant, slow wearing and splash and go stones.

The ones you listed would work well but I would ditch the King and replace it with a better 1K stone such as the shapton 1500 or the chosera 1K.

Chefknivestogo Blog

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2012 1:04 am 

As you probably know, A2 can be a real beast to sharpen. It will require more time than the O1 for sure.

R