It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 8:56 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: one more time ... thanks for your input!
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 11:10 pm 

do you mind if I ask some advice on a new gyuto?

I am not a professional cook by any means but I cook as a hobby. Typically, that means hard food prep every sunday but only a few hours a week. This is a good time of my week.

I sharpen my own camping knives and have a spyderco sharpmaker as well as a chosera 400, 800 and 2000. I have a suehriko 6000-3 that I am new to and still figuring out. I have strops with barkriver green and white and enkay black emery but I am only happy with the green so far.

I have a bunch of inexpensive knives and don't laugh but I think it gives insight into what I like to use to work with.
I have some cutco knives which I liked but I can't sharpen. (at least the d shaped ones)
The cutco chef's knife i have is too short for my taste so I never use it.
I have a wustof classic 20 cm knife which does pretty well and currently is my favorite knife except it is too short and so...
I find I use a super cheap 26 cm knife (10 bucks?) more that I bought because I like the size better and don't mind sharpening it so that negates the importance of the steel when I use it.