It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 2:35 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 2 of 2 [ 14 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 Post subject: Re: Lessons Learned
PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2014 12:33 pm 

Very informative Sailor. I am fairly new to Japanese waterstone sharpening, but I have been able to put a good edge on my knives, it just takes me longer..
I start with the Latte, your article tells me to stay with the Latte a little longer, then a little shorter on the other stones in the progression.
Many thanks for the great article.

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2014 7:39 pm 

Hi phillysco, thank you.
Patience with that great Latte of yours will leave you rewarded when you move to a finer grit, let that coarse stone do it's magic, get the knife sharp, really sharp on it before you advance. You won't have to spend a lot of time on the finer grits, it's not so much a rule of mine, i.e. more time on the coarse stone then the finer stone, it just happens that way. If I spend 15 minutes on one knife, 9 of those minutes is on a coarse stone (s). Again, this is a lesson learned from previous mistakes on my part by jumping up in grit too early, thinking a 2k or 5k stone for example would erase the mistakes generated by my impatience.

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2014 8:09 pm 

LL 5 - Stropping.