It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 2:51 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Experienced cook/Inexperienced Knife owner
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:01 am 

As the title states, I'm an experienced line cook who needs to get into the knife game. I'm looking for a good entry level, work horse knife. I would buy a Global chef knife, but the handle is too small for my hand. I've tried a couple of gyuto's at work but none really stood out. I was thinking about purchasing the Richmond Artifex 210mm AEB-L Gyuto but want to check in with the forum first.

1. Are you right handed? Right Handed
2. What type of knife are you interested in (gyuto, nakiri etc..) Chef knife w/o bolster or Gyuto
3. What size knife are you looking for? 8"/240mm range
4. Do you prefer carbon or stainless steel? Stainless
5. Do you prefer a western handle or a Japanese handle? Western
6. How much did you want to spend? $100 - $150
7. Do you know how to sharpen? No

Post subject: Re: Experienced cook/Inexperienced Knife owner
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:24 am 

The Artifex might be the only western stainless without a bolster. So i'm not sure if anything else can be recommended.
I would say if you went carbon it would only add a couple knives that are western without bolsters.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:28 am