It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 1:36 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: New Post for Knife Suggestion
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:27 pm 

Hi, this is my first time on-line and I am looking to buy a "Chef's Knife" or "Gyuto" somewhere in the $200 range. I have had a 10" Henckles Chef Knife for about 20 years now. I bought it after graduating from culinary school and have "slogged" on with using it despite the fact that it gets dull very quickly. :cry: I bought a Chef''sChoice 1520 electric sharpener from Williams Sonoma, which has done a decent job sharpening it so that it is usable at least. In culinary school, I did use a sharpening stone system; some American brand which had 3 stones and you flipped them around to the desired stone; it used oil--can't remember the brand, but our knives were so bad that they didn't hold an edge at all...I do feel confident that I can use a sharpening stone with some practice :!:

At any rate, the Moritaka 240mm Gyuto Supreme caught my eye because the description made it sound like it is a good solid knife made from steel that is not so hard that it is difficult to sharpen.
I also need suggestions for a sharpening stone and I have heard many people raving on various sites about "leather" strops, so am looking at the $60 Richmond strop kit for maintaining the edge.