It is currently Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:05 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: My first Japanese knife...help please
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2014 9:15 pm 

I am an avid home cook. I have a few OK knives (Shun, Sabatier....) but it's time to step up and see what a good Japanese knife can do for me...and I can do with it ;)
I cook and cater a lot so it will be used as much as anyone does in a home environment.
First off ......a nice Gyuto. Probably 240?
My goto right now is a Shun Reserve Chef 8". But I think I want something longer, thinner and certainly lighter.
I want to end up with a nice and sensible complement of usable knives. No interest in becoming a "collector".....at this time!!!!!!

1. Are you right handed? - YES
2. What type of knife are you interested in (gyuto, nakiri etc..) - GYOTO
3. What size knife are you looking for? - 240
4. Do you prefer carbon or stainless steel? - I live near the ocean so semi or full SS is preferred.
5. Do you prefer a western handle or a Japanese handle? - JAPANESE
6. How much did you want to spend? - about $200-$250.
7. Do you know how to sharpen? - Learning, I have he CKTG basic 3 stone kit and I'm getting the feel of it.

Other considerations....
I admit that I do like a good looker (Damascus etc!)....also fit and finish are important attributes. Not to the detriment of performance though.
I use 20x15 end grain BOOS Blocks.
I cook with a lot of vegetables and fish. Meat yes...but not as much.