It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 10:05 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 
 Post subject: Do I need a sujihiki?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 4:15 am 

I am a line cook and need a knife for slicing. I break down and portion ribeyes and tenderloins on a daily basis and would like a good knife for the job. My biggest knife is a 240mm gyuto. Would a 270 or 300 sujihiki be the answer? What other tasks are sujis good for? I just need to know if that is the right type of knife for me. Any help and suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance...

War Eagle

Post subject: Re: Do I need a sujihiki?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:41 pm 
Site Admin

Sujihikis are basically western carving knives. There are not a whole lot of them available in a large size but we do have a few. Something like this Suisin might work well for you:
http://www.chefknivestogo.com/suin30su.html

Chefknivestogo Blog

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:08 pm 

Do you have room for a big slicer? If you do, then go for it, slicing steaks deserves a good tool.

That suisin is a sweet blade for $200.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 4:12 am 

So it sounds like a 270+ suji would fit the bill for breaking down big pieces of red meat. What other jobs do sujihikis do well? I don't want to drop too much coin on a uni-tasker...

War Eagle

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 7:28 am