It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 6:11 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Your favorite sharpening tool
wet stones from ck2g  50%  50%  [ 9 ]
Wicked Edge  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Lansky  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Edge Pro  50%  50%  [ 9 ]
Spyderco  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 18

Post subject: Complete newbie - can I use "magic device"?
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 9:48 pm 

Is it blasphemy to get a "system" to help out?

I'm not a complete knife nut (nor a fantastic cook, but *soooo* much a gadget freak). However - I have to say both knife interest and cooking boosted after I got a few Tojiro DPs to replace my Victorinox (aka Forschner in the US?) knives. ...and Mark's posts on the Laser really gets the gadget freak in me going... If I only could sharpen it...

Anyways; I got my Victorinox-es done by a skilled sharpener here in Norway; good job, but since he is using an "emery" (again unsure of US terms, but fast rotating stone causing higher temperatures), I'm not sure how to continue with the better cured steel in the Tojiros. Also tempted to learn myself; if it is "doable" for a beginner. Not überhandy, but OK ;)