It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 4:18 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: Honing technique
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 4:36 am 

Hi, I'm a relative newcomer getting more confident with sharpening but I have a couple of questions about honing.

I'm a recent Edge Pro Essentials purchaser, with Tojiro DP and Moritaka AS gyutos. I've sharpened them both on the EP to 15 deg with 10 deg back bevels. Before each use, I do 2 quick, super-light passes on a high-grit ceramic rod.

First, I noticed something funny in a pleasant way: the knives seemed noticeably sharper on the 2nd/3rd day after sharpening. On day 1 they cut through onions quick and easy, but by day 3 it was like the onions weren't even there. Does this mean I started off with a wire edge and it came off with honing?

Second, I'm sure I've read conflicting (or confusing) advice on the honing angle. It seems obvious I'd want to hone at exactly the angle of the edge, but I'm an EP user, so I have no practice at all finding that angle by hand. I'm definitely going to err a little one way or the other. Which should I pick? I read in the book "An Edge In The Kitchen" that you should sharpen at the edge angle or a slight bit "steeper" (which I guess means slightly fewer degrees), but I swear that somewhere else I read that you should err on the more obtuse side. Which should it be?

Post subject: Re: Honing technique
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 4:39 am