It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 4:39 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 3 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject: Sharpening my Misono UX10
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 4:25 pm 
Site Admin

Hello I just received a misono ux10 guyoto from you. The knife has a decent factory edge on it but I really want to sharpen it to bring it to its full potential. I was just wondering if I could effectively sharpen this knife on a tri oil stone. I have a lot of experience sharpening softer steel knives but I have heard a lot of stories about the hard metal chipping if sharpened or honed on something too rough. I have very fine oil stones and just wanted to know if I could safely take this knife to them without destroying it. Also between sharpening is it ok to use a steel on it or is there any other method of maintaining the edge since I am using this knife professionally. Thank you

Chefknivestogo New Arrivals

Post subject: Re: Sharpening my Misono UX10
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:00 pm 
Forum Moderator

Oil stone's should work on the UX10....albeit slowly. You won't damage the knife simply because you're trying to sharpen on the oil stone's. Waterstone's for most of us are preferred though.

With a steel, I personally wouldn't. The UX10 isn't a super hard steel and won't react terribly to a gentle steeling.....but there are better ways and products.

For instance, if you want to use a honing rod, I'd get the Idahone or similar:

http://www.chefknivestogo.com/id12cerodwna.html