It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:26 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 
 Post subject: minosharp vs super togeru sharpening guide
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:58 pm 

just wondering if anybody used these sharpening guides before. I'm really new to sharpening and it's hard for me to keep that constant angle right now so I was just wondering which guide would you guys suggest.

Post subject: Re: minosharp vs super togeru sharpening guide
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 5:47 am 
Forum Moderator

Neither. I would suggest you either go freehand or jump up to a device that can give you ADJUSTABLE fixed angles - Edge Pro or Wicked Edge for instance. These types of guides cause more problems that they provide solutions, especially as one approaches the tips where they have trouble providing a constant angle even though it is just providing a single angle setting. Consider these as a very minimal solution.

---
Ken

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:58 am 

been free handing on one of my crappy knives and it's still kinda hard to not wobble, thinking about buying the edge pro but it's pretty pricey

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 2:05 pm