It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 3:44 am

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Quick question....
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:01 am 

Hi! I am very new to the world of SR shaving and would like to ask for your input on these 2 razors I am considering purchasing as my first 'decent' razor.

Dovo 5 58130 Straight Razor, 5/8 Inch Half Hollow Ground Swedish Steel Blade, Ebony Handle

or

RALF AUST – RAZOR MANUFACTURE SOLINGEN 5/8" BLACK

The dovo is more expensive and doesn't include honing. The ralf Aust is from SRD. Aesthetically speaking, I like them both. I am currently using a vintage C.F. Ern I got on eBay for practically nothing but it has some slight pitting near the edge (can't see it on the bevel), and the scales SUCK. I am really enjoying learning how to shave again but would like a new, blemish free, razor.

Opinions?

Thanks in advance,

Chris

Post subject: Re: Quick question....
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 2:23 pm 
Forum Moderator

CHRIS <> Regarding the regulars, as far as I know, MICHIEL, is only going to be checking in sparsely for the next few days so hopefully Magnus will chime in.

All I can personally add is that they have pretty much ingrained it in me that the Swedish razors are superior products. Presumably due to their harder steel...

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:44 pm