It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:07 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 3 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject: I need a chef knife with good edge retention
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 4:39 pm 

Hello,

I need suggestions for a chef knife 10 inches to chop onions, slice tomatoes, lemons,peppers,mushrooms etc.
Unfortunately I am NOT an expert in cooking so the very advanced suggestions are not likely to help me.

my roommate has a JA Henckels international fine edge pro chef knife. It is basically a cheap knife made in china with stamped blade and I used to think it is a waste of money before I sharpened it.
I am good at honing straight razors and I took out 3 of my synthetic stones: Norton 1k, Norton 4k, Norton 8k. I started resetting the bevel on 1k, then 4k then 8k until I got a mirror bevel. I sharpened at ~20 degree angle.

I was very surprised at the edge that the knife got. it could shave my arm hair. I was not expecting this from a very cheap knife. JA Henckels international has a forged blade series that is higher priced and supposedly better. For that reason I could not believe how sharp the cheap stamped blade became.

unfortunately, the sharpness was gone in a very short amount of time. the edge did not hold for more than a few meal preparation.
I need a knife that holds its edge for longer period of time.

I can take care of a knife but it should not rust too easily. I prefer not to pay more than $200

Please let me know
Thanks
Dan