It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:25 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 3 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject: Total Noob to Japanese knives!
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:02 am 

Hello! I'm looking for a knife or two, but mainly have so many questions I need answering, and was hoping there is a sticky of frequently asked questions, as I'm sure my questions are among them. Before I ask for knife recommendations, I'm hoping I can have some more basic questions answered:

• what is the difference in metal of the knives beside metal and mineral content, and what is the best type?
• when would you use a honing rod, and when do you fully sharpen the blade?
• Is it preferable to have a single-edged knife, or a dual-edge knife? Why?

1. I'm left handed
2. I am interested in a chef's knife, a nakiri knife, and a santoku knife
3. I prefer 10" (240mm I believe?) knives, but am fine with the santoku being shorter.
4. I have no idea the performance difference between carbon steel and stainless, and would love to be educated. I currently have a wusthof classic 10" and a shun premier 4" paring knife
5. I wish I knew the difference between western and japanese handles.
6. I'm open to price, but would like an introductory knife in these categories at under $100 each before I consider a larger investment.
7. I know how to sharpen