It is currently Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:28 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Richmond GT Artifex Wa Gyuto
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:01 pm 

Thoughts about this knife? I know it was made by fujiwara with their FKM steel, but I have no experience with fujiwara knives. I was thinking of picking it up when I order some sayas just for a funsies knife.

Knife Experience:
150mm Hiromoto petty
9" New West Knife Works Chef's
270mm Kohetsu AS Gyuto
150mm Masakage Yuki Honesuki
8 and 10" Wusthof Classics
Crappy Mercer culinary school knives

Post subject: Re: Richmond GT Artifex Wa Gyuto
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:06 pm 
Forum Moderator

I posted this in the last day or so in another thread:

"That Richmond Artifex Wa 240 is thin, but not as thin as the Kono. The Kono Hd is much better steel also. That Artifex is a bit short at the heel as well for a 240. It's a good knife, but the there's a reason the Kono costs more. If you're trying to get into that style of knife inexpensively, then it might be a good option."

You can see my rating/review on the comments page. I wish it were taller, but if you want something to play around with, maybe try different sharpening techniques, see what the Funayuki/Gyuto profile is about, it's a good choice.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:18 pm 
Site Admin