It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:34 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: Filleting fish
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:27 pm 

Hi,
I am a chef in Providence, Rhode Island and have been using Japanese knives for a long time.

I am just wondering what is a good fish filleting knife. I am currently using my Hattori petty to fillet fish.
I know the honesukis are great for it but im looking for more of a flexible knife (I have never used one before, so mind my knowledge about honesukis

I am not specifically looking for a Japanese knife but it would be great if it would be one.

I am so on a budget.

I have looked into http://www.chefknivestogo.com/todpbokn15.html and wondering if its as flexible as the http://www.chefknivestogo.com/wugrpriibokn.html(which I've used before)

Thank you very much.

Post subject: Re: Filleting fish
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:01 am 

From what I've read http://www.chefknivestogo.com/riarfikn18.html is the only knife that describes it as having some flex.

However there is a very easy way to choose the perfect knife for you.

http://www.chefknivestogo.com/kncose.html

That link if purchased will allow you to select from a selection of knives and get all the specs on the knives.

I believe most of us here on the forums use Deba style knives for filleting. But those are used in a much different manner than flexible fillet knives.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:16 am 

Thank you very much for the information :)