It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:40 pm

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 
 Post subject: Some Novice Questions
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:48 pm 

Backstory: I'm a noob when it comes to sharpening. I bought the EP a year ago, I've had limited success, but thats to be expect as I've just been learning on the fly as I go. So I got a feel for using the EP stones(When I finally felt a burr it was like a lightswitch went off in my head), switched to the Shapton Glass ones(500,1000,4000) and picked up a angle cube.
My knife is the Richmond Artifex gyuuto

1. When you are sharpening and switching to a different stone, do you lightly remove the burr? or do you just not even bother with it?

2.How do you use the angle cube with the edge-pro?

3.It seems like the 4000 Stones takes way more time to sharpen than the 500/1000 stones combined. Is that the case for everyone else?

4. For the Ceramic Hone. Do you go slightly wider or narrower than the angle you sharpened at? I feel like I might be screwing up my knives by honing at the wrong angle. Like I could chop 5 onions and the knife would be duller than a breadknife.

Thanks. :D

Post subject: Re: Some Novice Questions
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:57 pm 

2.How do you use the angle cube with the edge-pro?
Check out the video on the cktg angle cube product page
3.It seems like the 4000 Stones takes way more time to sharpen than the 500/1000 stones combined. Is that the case for everyone else?