It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 5:01 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: Help me choose between 5 gyutos
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:08 pm 
Site Admin

I have narrowed my search down to 4 knives in your inventory:

Suisin Inox Honyaki WA-GYUTOU 240mm
Takeda Gyuto AS 240mm
Richmond Laser 240mm Gyuto
Masamoto KS Wa-Gyuto 240mm
Konosuke Ginsan 240mm

I am a professional Chef and am in the kitchen daily. All of our work is done on NSF cutting boards (no wood), lots of herbs, vegetables, fruits, red meats, fish etc. My questions are:
Which knife with hold an edge for a longer period of time and are they easily straightened on a diamond steel?
Will any of these knives oxidize any foods after use with the knife?
Which knives are double bevel/single bevel?
For cost which would you prefer for daily use in a kitchen?

I'm relatively new to Japanese knives, but prefer the thinness of the blades and the handles as opposed to western knives like henkels and such.
I'm sure there are a million more things to know about these knives, but in the end I want the best knife for the money and something that will last and perform for years to come.

Thanks,
Drew

Richmond Laser

Post subject: Re: Help me choose between 5 gyutos
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:09 pm 
Site Admin

To answer your question I need a little more info.

Are you right handed?
You mentioned using a diamond rod. Do you sharpen with stones and then touch up with the rod or is it all rod all the time?