It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 2:37 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: Japanese Water Stones advice
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 4:48 am 

Hey there people i have a question, i need some advice on what water stones i should get i have a Shun Kaji 7.5" HG Sumo Santoku and a Kasumi 20cm VG-10 32 layers.. BOTH ARE BEAUTIFUL BLADES BY THE WAY :D So i wont to treat them right and start taking care of them myself, i am a noob so any advice is welcome.. The problem is the more research i do the harder it is to make a choice the Kasumi is a few years old now and has some light scratching on the edge from me using a steal every so often back when my skills with a blade weren't what they are now, so i wont to try and get it back to mirror finish on the cutting edge so i don't mind buying some nice stones..
i have done my research so i do have some knowledge just not enough to justify spending a few hundred dollars yet so i ask the people that know :mrgreen:
Cheers Sam

Post subject: Re: Japanese Water Stones advice
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:24 am 

Some common starter solutions:

a. Imanish combo stone, a one stone solution: http://www.chefknivestogo.com/imtwosi1kst.html
b. Arashiyama starter set, very popular due to high value for the money: http://www.chefknivestogo.com/4pcshstset.html
c. Bester/Suehiro Rika starter set, also very popular due to high value for the money: http://www.chefknivestogo.com/3pcstoneset.html