It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 4:46 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 
 Post subject: Need a new knife BAD!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:24 am 

So for the past 7 years ( i know a long time) i have been just looking and looking for a new knife. I am a professional in the industry and i just want to make the right investment. I have been considering Takedas i have been staring at them for the past few weeks now. Any tips on buying takedas? I have read all the reviews and seems like a no brainer just want to see if there is anything similar to what im looking for.

1. Are you right handed?Yes
2. What type of knife are you interested in? open, mainly a chefs knife, gyuto,
3. What size knife are you looking for?240mm
4. Do you prefer carbon or stainless steel? trying to break away from stainless
5. Do you prefer a western handle or a Japanese handle? i have used mostly western
6. How much did you want to spend?400 max no more
7. Do you know how to sharpen? My skills are about a 7

Post subject: Re: Need a new knife BAD!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:49 pm 
Forum Moderator

Takeda's are nice. I don't know how line knife friendly they are. Very thin edges, and carbon. However, I do know some people who use them on the line. His stock gyuto profile is also VERY wide.

If all of that sounds like something you're okay with....by all means, get one. I really like his knives.

The Goko is a great, stainless clad carbon core, narrower profile. Awesome knife for the money.