It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 8:49 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 4 [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 Post subject: What size Mac Pro Chef knife should I get?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 1:59 am 
Site Admin

Hi Mark,

I have done a lot of research on buying a new chef's knife and have decided on a MAC Pro. I am a beginner home cook with evolving knife skills but still a novice. What I can't decide on is the size. Given my skills and usage, would I be better off with the 8.5" or should I go ahead and get the 9.5"? Through my reading, it would seem best to go ahead and get the larger one but would appreciate any advice you could give.

In my order I am going to get the 1k/6k combo stone and a MAC bread knife as well.

Thanks,
Chris

Chefknivestogo Blog

Post subject: Re: What size Mac Pro Chef knife should I get?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 2:01 am 
Site Admin

In general most home users tend to like the smaller one and most pros tend to like a larger chef knife.

Most of the guys on the forum I call "enthusiasts" and they usually like the larger one.

Personally I use the 9.5 inch but it took me some time to get used to the larger size (this was years ago).

Chefknivestogo Blog

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 2:43 am 

You should do like the rest of us and buy several of each size in different brands and then you will always be able to find one you like! :mrgreen:

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:30 am 

I think Mark would call me an Enthusiast :roll:

9.5"