It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:17 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: Steel/Hone Selection
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:07 am 

I'm new to hand sharpening/waterstones, etc. Have used numerous sharpening methods and hones in the past & now want to improve my edges...Henkels, Richmond, Shun, Tojoro. My understanding of steels is that they realign the microserrations on a "smooth" edge. Hence a polished butcher's steel is optimal. However, now we have ceramic and diamond steels, which take off metal. That seems to be sharpening...not aligning. So, why would I choose one over the other? Which maintains the edge best between true sharpening? Is there a difference with the harder steels in the Richmond, Shun and Tojoro knives compared with the traditional German steels? (That's a lot of questions...sorry!)

Post subject: Re: Steel/Hone Selection
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:14 am 
Forum Moderator

papilloncooks wrote:"Which maintains the edge best between true sharpening?"

Steels have their limitations. I find strops are much more efficient, and since they are dry, they are quick at work... or after. <link> Strop - set <link> <-- These are double duty as they allow refinement beyond your stones in less expensive options, and they work to true your blade as a steel would but w/o degrading your high grit finishes.

If you already have a lapping plate for your stones, grab this strop set <link> instead.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:14 pm