It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 8:46 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Fujiwara FKM or Richmond Artifex?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:28 pm 
Site Admin

Hi CKTG/Mark,

I'm a student in the UK, looking to treat myself to a nice knife - either be a Fujiwara FKM or your Richmond Artifex Gyuto (210mm). I'm hoping I could get some suggestions from you especially with regards to a sharpening stone. Unfortunately, even a student treat is rather budget constrained, especially after shipping costs are in as well.

1. Experience: I've got no experience sharpening knives, but I do know from reading that it's time to learn.

2. Wants and needs: I would like a set-up that could serve me a couple of years of light cooking (1 meal a day). I'm not ready to buy a set of many stones, and I wonder if there is a low-cost way to get a decent edge (in other words, could I make do for years on a 1000 grit stone?). I'm not intending to bring out the highest performance on these knives with high grit stones, but I would love to hear your advice on what a sustainable set-up could be. In the future, with more savings and experience I may choose to add stones.