It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:26 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: Help me choose the stones mix n' matching...
PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:58 pm 

The starter set for 189.99 looks really nice for the money...

With all the subjectivity involved in these stones I'm going a bit crazy. The Nubatama is a little more money but is it that much better? I'm a newbie but I'm not exactly a novice either...I mean I certainly know how to screw up some cheapo blades but now that I've learned the fundamentals of consistent patterns I'm confident that a purchase of quality stones will not be a waste of money or time.

Does the Nubatama work much better for an extra 75-80$? What makes Nubatama superior to other inexpensive stones? Is the Nubatama stone produced by a manufacture who also makes other no name stones? If a generic equivalent exists I'm probably not going to fork over dough just for a pretty box and fancy kanji writing.

Call me a curmudgeon but I simply don't trust this "My brand is different or better." Videos of Murry Carter cranking out screaming edges on King stones says a lot to me.

If I pay more I want a stone that will last longer. I don't care about cutting speed. If the end result is the same I really don't care how fast it works. I like tinkering around with the stones. That being said those Shaptons look pretty darn fast and impression for a few bucks more...