It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:09 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Suggested first big knife purchase...
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 5:53 pm 

Ok, here it goes. I'm no longer a cook but have had a lifetime passion for food and knifes. Especially Japanese knifes. I'm a home cook and have never used a sharpening stone either. But have sharpened many knifes in my lifetime and want to learn using Takedas hand stone whenever they come in stock. My question is for a home knife would you guys go for the full 240 gyuto classic, or the 210 gyuto? I'll be using this knife for basically everything. From Veg, to slicing thin pieces of venison for jerky making. I'm definitely decided on a Takeda, but wondering if the 240 will be a touch on the big side. I've always used smaller knifes and was just wondering what y'all think. $30 dollar difference so thats not the deal breaker. I ask because i most likely will not be able to purchase another knife of this price. SO this is got to be the keeper. Any thoughts?

Post subject: Re: Suggested first big knife purchase...
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:31 pm 

I am a home cook and use a 17"x21" cutting board and I use 240mms almost exclusively. On my board I have more than enough real estate to work, in fact you could probably take 2" off in each direction and I still would not feel cramped.