It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 11:06 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: How to approach thinning
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:39 pm 

Hi all, as the title says I'm looking to try thinning one of my knives. Never tried it before. I have a Richmond wa-artifex that is my project knife. My stone set up starts with the bester 500. I'm only a home cook so my thinning needs will be limited

Is this stone going to work?
How much easier would a lower grit stone be? Suggestions?
Should I just eyeball a spot on the knife and basically create a shinogi line?

Any suggestions are appreciated

Post subject: Re: How to approach thinning
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:01 pm 

I would use a coarser stone but the 500 will work. Basically hold the blade as low as your comfortable with and start grinding until you create a new edge. With a 500 grit stone it will probably take a bit.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:02 am 
Forum Moderator

Chrismit29 wrote:
Is this stone going to work?
How much easier would a lower grit stone be? Suggestions?
Should I just eyeball a spot on the knife and basically create a shinogi line?

Any suggestions are appreciated

Yes, it will work.

Depends. How much thinning, what kind of steel, and how coarse you're talking.

Normal, everyday thinning with an easy to grad steel, the Best on will work fine.