It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:07 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: Help me choose between these 5 knives.
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:04 am 
Site Admin

Hi Mark,

I have previously purchased a 210mm Fujiwara FKM guyuto and a CCK 103 cleaver from CKTG.

I am a home cook and my knives are used moderately, mostly for cutting vegetables and fruit as well as some slicing or cubing meat. Task performance is my first priority but fit and finish are also considerations when I purchase a knife (I may want to show off a new boy toy to an occasional dinner guest).

I now looking to purchase a moderately priced, 210mm wa-guyuto with a kurouchi finish and a tall blade (mild preference for the latter attribute). In the under $100 price range, two knives caught my interest: the Yamashin white #1 and the Zakuri blue #1. In the under $150 range, the Itto-Ryu hammered white #2 also has appears to have a nicer handle as well as better fit and finish which might justify the additional expense and the wait until it is back in stock.. Both the Yamashin and Itto-Ryu have enthusiastic video and customer reviews. the Zakuri has no reviews, probably because it is a relatively new addition to your store.

Two knives with shorter height also look interesting: the Murata Buho blue #1 and the more expensive Masakage Mizu aogami #2 .

Do you have any thoughts that could help me choose among these 5 knives?

Chefknivestogo Blog