It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:48 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: Splash and go sharpening set.
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:38 pm 
Site Admin

Hey there,

I am a professional cook and like to keep my tools in good condition. I currently have a few Victorinox knives from my school kit and recently got a Fujiwara FKM gyuto under your recommendation.

Right now I have a Messermeister 500/1000 combination water stone that I use on my knives but its not very nice, doesn't hold water at all really and I can't seem to build up much swarf.

I am looking to make an order for a basic set of stones to sharpen my knives and I am also going to be getting a carbon steel knife to play around with and practice sharpening with.

I was originally going to get the 8pc complete sharpening set but I have read that the two coarser stones in that set need a fairly long soak time, and I am looking for something a little more splash and go so I can come home after work and sharpen right away if I notice my knives need it.

I like the look of the 4 Pc Arashiyama set and think I am going to go for that.

Now I am just looking for a flattening solution. I am looking to keep the price down as much as possible so wouldn't mind a versatile 3rd stone that could be used for flattening and also as a coarse stone for repair without needing a transition stone before going to the 1000 grit.