It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 6:25 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 
 Post subject: New to Forum - Thoughts on Petty vs Honesuki
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:23 pm 

Hello. I've been reading this forum for a while and I have good experience dealing with CKTG, so I joined the forum to get a little advice.

First, a little information.

I'm a home cook with above average home cook knife skills (at least I believe I am ;) ). Several years ago I gave my decades old Wusthof's to my step-son so I could try some different knives. So here I am, and I'm ready to try another knife.

Here's a list of some I currently own, and my personal thoughts on them:

Kikuichi Performance TKC 240mm Gyuto - This is my go-to knife and I really like it.

Bob Kramer 7" Carbon Steel Santoku Knife by Zwilling J.A. Henckels - I bought this a couple of months after taking a class with Bob Kramer. The 52100 carbon takes a nice edge, but it is a heavy and wide knife (3mm). I would prefer something lighter.

MAC Superior Bread Knife - I like this.

MAC Honesuki - The handle on mine is blocky and uncomfortable, and I found out that I don't care for a single bevel.

Shun Classic Gokujo - Good for removing chicken wings and leg quarters, but I find it clumsy to separate the breast meat from the bone. Great for silverskin.

Shun Classic Paring Knife 3 1/2" - Love it. It has a very comfortable handle and sharpens up nicely.

1. Are you right handed? Yes