It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 3:10 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Another cry for help
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:01 pm 

Hi. I'm a newbie on the forum, but have lurked here before. I'm being treated to a gyuto by my wife and don't have a lot of experience with Japanese knives, although I've got several Sabatier, both carbons and stainless. In answer to the recommended questions, I'm left handed, looking for a 240 mm, prefer carbon but would go with stainless if it's the best option, wa handle, around $200-225 and I limit my sharpening to the cheaper knives in the drawer until I get better at it. I do have a 240 Richmond Artifex and a 210 Tojiro shirogami kurouchi, but I wouldn't want to disappoint my wife by not adding another knife. The problem is when I look at the menu on CKG I get about 20 knives that meet my criteria. Help, please.

Post subject: Re: Another cry for help
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:51 am 

Are you looking for something thinner and lighter or more mid weight, a work horse?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:16 am 

I think a mid weight, I'm a home cook so I'd think the weight is a bit less important.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:55 am 
Forum Moderator

Curt - can you list 5 knives out of those 20 that really ring your bell and why? Maybe we can help you home in on what really fit your needs/preferences.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 4:30 am