It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 4:02 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 
 Post subject: Tojiro DP vs. ITK Shirogami
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 10:23 am 

Hello,
I'm fairly new to these knives and was curious the difference between the two models offered? And if one was generally recommend over the other? I'd be looking at the 210 gyuto in either line.

As for me, I'm right handed and enjoy honing. My only experience is with average commercial brands (current set is shun). As for handle type, SS vs. carbon, etc., I'm open to try anything and don't have a strong preference one way or another. Visually, I'm drawn to the look of the Shirogami a little bit more.

If there's anything else in, or near, that price range worth looking at I'd be open to other suggestions too. I'm starting with Tojiro as I've read they are a good value.

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Tojiro DP vs. ITK Shirogami
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 4:53 pm 
Site Admin

I like the Tojiro DPs over the Shirogami ITK stuff.

If you want a low priced carbon steel blade try some of the hand hammered carbon knives. The Yamashins are a good value and I like them better than the Tojiros.

http://www.chefknivestogo.com/yamashinknives.html

Chefknivestogo Blog

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 5:53 pm 

I have a DP gyuto and honesuki and the ITK 210mm gyuto, kiritsuke, and nakiri. Or I had the DP gyuto, but I gave it away. I use the kiritsuke and nakiri every day.