It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:27 pm

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: Stock stones loading up
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:31 pm 

I am a new user of the EP (about 3 weeks) and having a lot of problems with the stock stones loading up. Since I am still learning I use mainly the 220 and 400. After about 2 knives the stones are loaded up with metal and need cleaning/lapping. I use about 3 or 4 drops of dish soap in the squirt bottle that came with the kit and I wipe the stone off after I make one pass on one side of the blade.

According to Ben Dale the stones are self cleaning and I need to move the stone slower and use just enough pressure so that the stone bites in to the blade.

I realize there is a learning curve but the stones loading up is giving me fits. Maybe some of the more experienced EP users can chime in. Was stone loading a problem when you first started using the EP? Any suggestions other than what I have already tried?

Thanks - Mike

Post subject: Re: Stock stones loading up
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:52 pm 

Thats just the way the stock ep stones are. They like to trap particles and the make a mess. After about two knives they will be out of true enough that they need lapping anyways. But while in use i found it helpfull to use a small spray bottle to spritz the stones rather than use the dropper/finger method to move slurry around on the stone.