It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:52 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: difference between diamond sprays....
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 5:14 am 

pardon my ignorance, as i am not a stropping expert..... i've been looking into diamond sprays as they seem to give the best edges out of stuff.

what's the difference between the stuff that handamerican sells and what ken sells?

i read something about poly and mono diamonds?

can someone here help me figure it all out.

i am looking into these things as i am curious as to how these will effect the sharpness of my knives and my possibly my straight razors (really crappy ones, just to play around with, gold dollar)

thanks

Post subject: Re: difference between diamond sprays....
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:50 am 

I don't think you can go wrong with either Hand American or Ken. Both are high quality formations. The nice thing about Ken is that he likes to talk and so you can call him to discuss your plan for using the formulations and he will give you plenty of advice.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:54 am 

can't really make a call that easily with the time difference and, well.... cost of calling overseas =D

PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 5:13 pm 
Forum Moderator

Poly is way faster than Mono.

Poly leaves a more harsh scratch pattern than Mono.

Poly works better on harder steels than Mono.

Poly is way more expensive than Mono.

That's the basics....

:)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:15 am