It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 12:22 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: Putting together 1st kit, boning questions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:12 pm 

Hi everybody. New to the forums. I have been a cook in professional kitchens for around 12 years now, but I am just now to the point where I can put together my own starter knife set and stop using those darned house knives(long time coming). I have seen lots of suggestions on other forums that the 3 knives that somebody should start with are: a paring knife, a gyuto/french chef, and a petty/boning knife. I am also going to purchase a sujihiki, as I work at a college cafeteria and we carve ALOT of meat(200 lbs of turkey on a Wednesday evening).

So far this is the list I have come up with:

Sakai Takayuki Damascus Wa-Gyuto 240mm
Fujiwara FKM Stainless Sujihiki 270mm
Tojiro DP Paring Knife 90mm

Which brings me to the boning knife. I haven't seen a whole lot talking about boning knives and what to look for in one. Right now, I have my list narrowed down to 3 knives which are:

Tojiro DP Honesuki 150 mm
Henckles Pro S Boning
Wusthof Classic 5"

Now, I know obviously you get what you pay for, but is there really that big of a difference in boning knives and does anybody have any suggestions on getting one? Also, any input on the other 3 knives I have selected and alternatives to those would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Zach Anderson

Post subject: Re: Putting together 1st kit, boning questions